image
image
image
image

Places I like to go


 

The department of Loire-Atlantique is scattered with wet areas...the marshes of Goulaine, the Loire estuary, the salt marshes of Guérande, the Brière, the Breton marshes, the surroundings of the lake of Grand-Lieu, the coastline,...so many playgrounds where I carry around my camera seeking rare moments.


The Loire estuary :

The Loire estuary, large wetland of about 20,000 ha, is one of the last wild estuaries in France.
I mostly walk along the North bank of the Loire and especially the territory of the ”Syndicat Intercommunal de Chasse au Gibier d'Eau de Basse-Loire Nord/Basse-Loire Nord”, association of communes for waterfowl hunting. It is a portion of wet lands, located between Nantes and Saint-Nazaire, that extends itself 60km along the Loire, covering about 10 000Ha. The association of communes for waterfowl hunting’s main objectives are to rationally manage hunting in a sustainable way on the territory and to ensure the best preservation of these wet areas.

As you travel the 60kms along that part of the Loire, the landscape changes. Groves and unsalted meadows upstream become large meadows and mudflats downstream. Many channels wind through these marshes which are flooded during high tides. It is scattered over with reed beds and some groves.

This diversity of natural environments allows us to meet many birds, as subservient to the coastline as to areas of fresh water. There are all the species of dabbling ducks, five species of geese, many waders and sparrows, large wading birds such as herons, egrets, spoonbills, storks, or small wading birds such as stilts, avocets, lapwings...Large populations of nutria and wild boar live in the reed beds near the Loire. However, there are only a few reptiles and amphibians on this territory.


The salt marshes :

Located between the Loire and the Vilaine, the salt marshes of Guérande cover about 2000Ha, over two basins. The "Bassin du Mes" in the south of the estuary of the Vilaine, that covers about 300ha, and the “Basin de Guérande” which covers about 1700Ha, north of the Loire estuary. Created in the 5th century, salt marshes are man-made wetlands. The management of water levels in the various basins depends on the seasons and on the various maintenance work that the salt producers, must do in the marshes to harvest the natural and quality products that are crystals of “fleur de sel” (french sea salt) and large sea salt of Guérande.

The landscape of salt marshes is a mosaic of pools/basins of different shapes, depths and salinities. These pools of salt water are interspersed with creeks and slopes that allow sea water to be supplied deep into the marshes. A multitude of small freshwater pools punctuate this wetland, which participates in allowing an extra ordinary biodiversity.

300 species of birds are present in this wetland, including the Bluethroat, the stilt, the avocet, dabbling ducks, brant geese, egrets and herons and a multitude of shorebirds, passerines and gulls... Many mammals also roam the slopes such as weasels, foxes, wild boars, raccoons, small mammals, ... Some reptiles and amphibians share the sunny slopes and freshwater areas.


The marshes of Goulaine :

The marshes of Goulaine : The marshes of Goulaine are a vast wetland in the south-east of Nantes, covering an area of ​​about 2000Ha of marsh and farmland. In winter, 1200Ha are flooded to welcome the waterbirds, the hunting and the production of pike in the heyday (the Goulaine marshes are the largest spawning ground for pike in France). It will be drained in the spring. Water management is fully managed by man.

The winter landscape of the marsh is a great mix of flat waters interspersed with willows and reeds, gridded by channels of different widths and depths.

In summer, the flat waters are replaced by many plants, among them the "sedge" which will be mowed and exported to avoid the rising of the bottom of the marsh and to serve as bedding. The periphery of the marsh consists of a grove, of vines and vegetable crops.

This wetland area is visited by many water birds such as ducks and dabbling ducks, coots, geese, grebes, herons, egrets, shorebirds, raptors, passerines ... but also mammals such as raccoons, muskrats , foxes, wild boars, deer ... The wetlands also attract many amphibians such as newts and frogs. Grass snakes, adders, snakes, wall lizards and green lizards roam the marshes and their peripheries.

image
image
image
image

Les coins où j'aime me balader




La Loire Atlantique  est parsemée de nombreuses zones humides : le marais de Goulaine,  l’estuaire de la Loire, les marais salants de Guérande, la Brière, le marais breton, les abords du lac de Grand-lieu,  le littoral, …, autant de terrains de jeu dans lesquels je promène mon objectif à la recherche de l’instant rare.

L’estuaire de la Loire :

Vaste zone humide d’environ 20 000ha, l’estuaire de la Loire fait partie des derniers estuaires sauvages de France.

Je parcours principalement la rive Nord de la Loire et plus spécialement le territoire du Syndicat Intercommunal de Chasse au Gibier d’Eau de Basse Loire Nord. Il s’agit d’une langue de zones humides, située entre Nantes et Saint-Nazaire, de plus de 60KM de long pour environ 10 000Ha. Le SICGEBLN a pour objectifs principaux de gérer la chasse rationnellement et durablement sur le territoire et d’assurer la meilleure conservation possible de ces zones humides.

Sur ses 60 kilomètres de long, le territoire change de visage. Bocage et prairies non salées en amont, deviennent grandes prairies et vasières en aval. De nombreux étiers serpentent dans ce marais qui est inondé lors des grandes marées. Il est parsemé de roselières et de quelques bosquets.

 Cette diversité de milieux nous permet de rencontrer de nombreux oiseaux, aussi bien inféodés au littoral qu’aux zones d’eaux douces. On y trouve toutes les espèces de canards de surface, 5 espèces d’oies, de nombreux limicoles et passereaux paludicoles, des grands échassiers comme les hérons, aigrettes, spatules, cigognes ou de petits échassiers tels que l’échasse blanche, l’avocette élégante, le vanneau huppé… De fortes populations de ragondins et sangliers sont présentes dans les roselières de bord de Loire. Par contre, il n’y a que peu de reptiles et d’amphibiens sur ce territoire.

 Les marais salants :

 Situés entre Loire et Vilaine, les marais salants de Guérande couvrent une superficie d’environ 2000 Ha, sur deux bassins. Le bassin du Mes au Sud de l’estuaire de la Vilaine, pour environ 300 Ha, et le bassin de Guérande qui s’étend sur une superficie d’environ 1700 Ha au Nord de l’estuaire de la Loire. Créés au 5eme siècle, les marais salants sont des zones humides façonnées par l’Homme. La gestion des hauteurs d’eau dans les différents bassins se fait au gré des saisons et des différents travaux d’entretien que les paludiers, producteurs de sel, se doivent d’accorder aux marais pour récolter les produits naturels et de qualité que sont les cristaux de fleur de sel et de gros sel de Guérande.

Le paysage des marais salants est une mosaïque de bassins de formes, de profondeurs et de salinités différentes. Ces bassins d’eau salée sont entrecoupés de talus et d’étiers qui permettent l’arrivée de l’eau de mer au plus profond des marais. Une multitude de petites mares d’eau douce ponctuent cette zone humide, ce qui participe à une biodiversité extra ordinaire.

300 espèces d’oiseaux fréquentent cette zone humide, parmi lesquelles la gorge bleue à miroir, l’échasse blanche, l’avocette élégante, les canards de surface, les bernaches cravants, les aigrettes et hérons et une multitude de limicoles, de passereaux et de laridés… De nombreux mammifères parcourent aussi les talus tels que les belettes, renards, sangliers, ragondins, micromammifères,… Quelques reptiles et amphibiens se partagent les talus ensoleillés et les zones d’eau douce.

Le marais de Goulaine :

Vaste zone humide au Sud-est de Nantes, le marais de Goulaine couvre une surface d’environ 2000 Ha de marais et de bocage. En hiver, 1200 Ha sont inondés pour l’accueil des oiseaux d’eau, la pratique de la chasse et la production de  brochetons aux beaux jours (le marais de Goulaine est la plus grande frayère à brochets de France). Il sera exondé au printemps. La gestion de l’eau est totalement gérée par l’homme.

 Le paysage hivernal du marais est une alternance de grands plats d’eau entrecoupés de saules et de roselières, le tout quadrillé par des canaux de différentes largeurs et profondeurs.

L’été, l’eau des plats est remplacée par de nombreux végétaux dont la « rouche » qui sera fauchée et exportée pour éviter la remonté du fond du marais  et pour servir de litière. Le pourtour du marais est constitué d’un bocage, de cultures maraîchères et de vignes.

Cette zone humide est fréquentée par de nombreux oiseaux d’eau tels que les canards plongeurs et de surface, foulques, oies et bernaches, grèbes, hérons, aigrettes, limicoles, rapaces, passereaux… Mais aussi des mammifères comme les ragondins, rats musqués, renards, sangliers, chevreuils… Les zones humides attirent aussi de nombreux amphibiens tels que les tritons et grenouilles. Des couleuvres, vipères, lézards des murailles et lézards verts parcourent les marais et leurs pourtours.