image
image
image
image

Equipment




I discovered wildlife photography in 2006 and quickly enjoyed immortalizing these intimate moments spent in the nature.

 At first, I used a film SLR camera, followed by my families first digital compact camera, then, when I realized that this had become a passion, I decided to buy my first digital camera, a bridge camera, Lumix FZ18 which I combined with the teleconverter TC E15ED Nikon. Together, we wandered around, without sparing ourselves the difficulties of the nature (sand, rain, snow, silt, summer heat, mountain cold...)

For some time, I have been trying to tame a 300mm F4 Canon lens on a EOS 450D body with more or less success...

 To come as close as possible to my subject, I use different strategies:


- The floating lookout:

Hidden under a kind of camouflage tent floating on a raft, I browse the shallow wet areas seeking for animals. Once I spot the animal, a slow and delicate approach begins. This technique gives great feelings, because you are at water level. Birds may consider you as part of the landscape and want to come take refuge on the raft, as it happened to me with a brood of coots.


- The fixed lookout:

Following a very precise tracking, I decide to build a blind in a place frequented by animals. I have different fixed blinds that I either leave behind or that I disassemble every time. They are made of canvas or camouflage nets, and, so that they blend into the landscape, I use materials found in the area. One of the techniques I enjoy using for the water birds is finding a sort of river that empties and fills up depending on the tides, and placing a lookout nearby. I go there at low tide and I only have to wait for the tide to rise so that the flow drives the birds back.


- The approach :

I move very slowly in a place where I know I can find animals. The idea is to surprise an animal and to come very close to it without it having noticed me. For an approach by foot, a neutral outfit, silence, and your smell dispersed by the wind, are essential.

image
image
image
image

Matériel


J’ai découvert la photographie animalière en 2006 et ai très vite pris plaisir à immortaliser ces moments d’intimité passés avec la nature.

D’abord avec un reflex argentique suivi par le premier compact numérique de la famille, puis voyant que la passion était là, j’ai décidé de m’acheter mon premier appareil photo numérique, un bridge, le Lumix FZ18 auquel j’associe un téléconvertisseur TC E15ED Nikon. Ensemble nous avons vadrouillé à droite à gauche sans nous épargner les difficultés de la nature (sable, pluie, neige, vase, chaleur estivale, froid montagnard...).

 Depuis quelques temps, j’essaie d’apprivoiser un 300mm F4 Canon monté sur un Eos 450D…

Pour me trouver au plus près de mon sujet j’utilise différents stratagèmes :

- L’affut flottant :

Caché sous une sorte de tente de camouflage flottant sur un radeau, je parcours les zones humides peu profondes à la recherche d’animaux. Une fois le sujet repéré, l’approche commence, lente et délicate. Cette technique procure de grandes sensations car on est au niveau de l’eau. Les oiseaux peuvent nous accepter comme un élément du paysage et vouloir venir s’y réfugier comme cela m’est arrivé avec une nichée de foulques…

- L'affut fixe :

A la suite d’un repérage très précis, je décide de monter un affut sur un endroit fréquenté par les animaux. J’ai différents affuts fixes que je laisse sur place ou démonte à chaque sortie. Ils sont faits à partir de toiles ou de filets de camouflage, et pour les intégrer dans le paysage, j’utilise des matériaux présents sur place. Une des technique que j’apprécie pour les oiseaux d’eau consiste à trouver un étier, sorte de rivière qui se vide et se remplit au gré des marées, et d’y placer un affut à proximité. Je m’y poste à marée basse et il ne reste plus qu’à attendre la montante pour que le flot me rabatte les oiseaux…


- L’approche :

Je me déplace très lentement sur un territoire que je sais fréquenté. L’idée étant de surprendre un animal et de pouvoir s’en approcher sans que celui-ci ne m’ait repéré. Tenue neutre, silence, odeur masquée par le vent sont de rigueur pour une approche à pied…